has been made between those Dominion lands which are still freely disposable by the Dominion Government, and those which have been set aside as National Parks, under the National Parks Acts, or as Indian reserves, by Treaty. Only those which are freely disposable at the present time are classified as Dominion Crown lands, but the total Dominion lands can be easily obtained by adding the other items thereto.

Interest in this northern part of the national domain has increased in the past decade and the administration of these lands was placed under a separate branch of the Dominion Government, the North West Territories and Yukon Branch of the Department of the Interior, until 1931, when, on the transfer of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and of the Railway Belt and Peace River Block of British Columbia to the respective provincial administrations, it was transferred to the Dominion Lands Administration. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order throughout the Northwest Territories and Yukon. More detailed particulars of the administration of each territory follow:—

The Northwest Territories.—The government of the Northwest Territories is vested in a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner, and a Council of five members with Ottawa as the seat of Government. The administration is carried on by the Department of the Interior through the Dominion Lands Administration. The Territories are subdivided for administrative purposes into the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin. The district of Mackenzie is, as yet, the most widely known and developed, trading posts and settlements being located all along the great stretch of inland waterways known as the Mackenzie system. Fort Smith, the headquarters of the Mackenzie district, is located on the Slave river north of the rapids. From this point there is uninterrupted navigation to the Arctic ocean, a distance of approximately 1,369 miles.

The Administration has provided for a government hospital and medical service, grants to the Anglican and Roman Catholic churches for education, an excellent mail service in which river steamboats and aeroplanes co-operate, motor roads and a system of radio stations linking up Fort Smith, Resolution, Simpson and Aklavik with Edmonton, Alberta, and with Dawson and Mayo, Yukon.

The Department of the Interior has set aside certain areas, totalling over 338,916,000 acres, as preserves wherein only the Indian and the Eskimo may hunt. Officers in the field have made investigations into the conditions affecting musk-ox, caribou, and other forms of wild life. The Wood-Buffalo Park in the vicinity of Fort Smith covers an area of 17,300 sq. miles; it has been specially preserved for the protection of the buffalo. The Thelon Game Sanctuary to the east of Great Slave lake is, in its turn, the home of musk-oxen and caribou.

Included in the Northwest Territories are the Arctic prairies, which are capable of supplying pasturage to large numbers of reindeer and caribou. Following investigations, steps have been taken to establish a Government herd of reindeer in a suitable location on the lower Mackenzie. Indications are that this experiment will result in a plentiful meat supply in the future.

Another feature of administration has been the installation of a chain of wireless stations. This has been a great boon to the isolated posts of the Mackenzie district, as the traders and trappers are now able to keep in constant touch with outside markets, a condition enabling them to dispose of their catch to the greatest advantage. In addition to supplying market news, the radio keeps the inhabitants of the North in contact with some of the amenities of civilization.

Exploratory work has been pushed forward throughout the Territories and local surveys made in the Mackenzie and Franklin districts. Mining prospectors